April in Review

The struggle of April has been finding balance. After writing up a storm in March, I wanted to keep up the momentum into the next month and while I managed to write a lot, I wasn’t able to do nearly as much as I would like. To write, to pitch and to be creative you need time – and I lack time. The pressures of balancing part-time work and my writing have been incredibly difficult these past thirty days – and I’m ashamed of that. The stress has settled almost permanently in my lower back, and even right now, thinking about getting up tomorrow and serving coffee makes my muscles tense. I wish it wasn’t like that, but it is.

That doesn’t mean I’m not thankful for all the amazing opportunities I have, or even the amazing people I work with at my coffee job. It’s just very hard sometimes. It’s hard when you feel spread out in a million different directions, and the little sleep you do get ends up being haunted by nightmares as you worry about running out of time. On the other hand, I’m as motivated as ever to make this work – I’m fighting to not only write more but to write better.

I’m especially happy to take on a new project with Vague Visages addressing questions of film criticism, Why Criticism?. So far I’ve done two pieces, both personal essays. The next one will be more of the same, but sooner than later I want to branch out with some interviews and different kinds of writing. I am also especially interested in writing more about digital media, all the videos that I watch that are not quite a film and not quite tv – something new and exciting. The struggle with that is finding the right words. If you want to be writing about vloggers or video game live streaming, what context do you drum up? It’s something I’m devoted to working on, excited to make it happen.

As with every birthday month, I also put together my favourite films of all time which you can check out at Letterboxd.

Fandor

Jean Harlow and Anita Loos: A Legacy Built on Female Friendship

Movie Mezzanine

Robert Drew and the Legacy of Authenticity Politics

The Richest

Top 13 Most Dangerous Movies Ever Made

Top 15 Most Horrifying True Crime Documentaries

Top 15 Sexiest Horror Movies of All Time

12 Reasons to Love Mia Khalifa

Top 12 Craziest Things Christian Bale has Done for Roles

Roger Ebert

VIOLENCE IS A VERY SAD POETRY: THE FILMS OF SAM PECKINPAH

Vague Visages

‘The Bitter Tears of Petra von Kant’ (R.W. Fassbinder, 1972)

‘In a Year with 13 Moons’ (R.W. Fassbinder, 1978)

In Defence of the Personal

‘The Marriage of Maria Braun’ (R.W. Fassbinder, 1979)

Stranger With My Face Festival 2016: ‘Evolution’ and ‘The Love Witch’

Why Criticism?

OTHER

Criticwire Daily Reads

Keyframe Daily

Best Films I Watched For the First Time

vlcsnap-2016-04-14-11h29m39s920

The Bitter Tears of Petra Von Kant (R.W. Fassbinder)

vlcsnap-2016-04-09-00h34m34s653

Detour (Edgar G. Ulmer)

vlcsnap-2016-04-18-19h05m03s265

In This Our Life (John Huston)

THE JUNGLE BOOK

The Jungle Book (Jon Favreau)

the-love-witch

The Love Witch (Anna Biller)

Leave a Reply

